Resurrecting an old project

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

FlyingScot
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:43 pm

Resurrecting an old project

Post by FlyingScot » Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:52 pm

Hi Tom

I have decided to complete a part built router I started nearly 10 years ago using kflop & Kanalogue running Parker drives and servo's on kflop v4.22.
Will there be any problems upgrading to the latest firmware?

Arthur

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 991
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Resurrecting an old project

Post by TomKerekes » Thu Jan 09, 2020 12:33 am

Hi Aurthur,

No
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

FlyingScot
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: Resurrecting an old project

Post by FlyingScot » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:18 pm

Hi Tom

Is there any way in finding my old forum posts from September October 2010 so that I can figure out my old settings?

Regards

Art

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 991
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Resurrecting an old project

Post by TomKerekes » Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:39 pm

Hi Art,

The old Yahoo Group is archived here.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

FlyingScot
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: Resurrecting an old project

Post by FlyingScot » Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:30 pm

Hi Tom,

I was unable to find the original posts in the forum so this has turned out to be a new setup using windows 10 as the old PC would not come back to life.
The machine is a simplec 3 axis router using parker servo's and drive's. Spindle will just be a relay switching router on and off.

I have managed to get servo's connected, tuned and have generated the C prog. Installed & configured the mach plugin but not sure what to do in Mach ports and pins settings.

I was going to set the router up in mach3 as my lathe and mill are running mach3 but now beginning to wonder if it is worth it.
I use Bobcad to generate my code files. I can't find a Bobcad post processor for Kmotion do you know of one?

Best regards

Arthur

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 991
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Resurrecting an old project

Post by TomKerekes » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:01 pm

Hi Art,
I have managed to get servo's connected, tuned and have generated the C prog. Installed & configured the mach plugin but not sure what to do in Mach ports and pins settings.
Since the Plugin and KFLOP generates the motion the Ports and Pins are mostly not used and are set to a dummy Port 0. See Step 6 here.


I was going to set the router up in mach3 as my lathe and mill are running mach3 but now beginning to wonder if it is worth it.
I use Bobcad to generate my code files. I can't find a Bobcad post processor for Kmotion do you know of one?
No I'm not aware of one. Usually the one for Mach3 should be very similar. If you find one please add it to our wiki here.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

FlyingScot
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: Resurrecting an old project

Post by FlyingScot » Tue Jan 21, 2020 1:42 pm

Hi Tom,

I have all 3 axis working and calibrated in Mach3 but having problems with homing.
Homing is disabled in mach3 and I am using a home c prog found on the forum as a starting point.
When I ref all I get a compilation error. I am only trying to home Z at the moment.
I am using pnp hall effect switches for homing connected to jp15 on kanalogue.

I have attached the home program I am trying to use but I get complication error.
I have not done a lot of programming but I think this is where I shelved this project 10 years ago.

Regards

Art







#include "KMotionDef.h"

//Plugin calls for Mach3 Home (actually Purge) Commands

main()
{
int flags = persist.UserData[5]; // Mach3 flags bit0=X, bit1=Y, Bit2=Z, etc...

printf("Mach3 Home Call, flags = %d\n",flags);

if (flags==1)
{
// do x homing here
}

if (flags==2)
{
// do y homing here
}

if (flags==4)
{
// do z homing here
}

int SaveZLimits; //place to save limit switch settings

DisableAxis(2) //Disable Z axis

SaveZlimits = ch2->LimitSwitchOptions; // save how limit is Set THIS IS WHERE ERROR STARTS

ch2->LimitSwitchOptions = 0 // disable the limit

EnableAxis(2) //enable Z axis and begin servoing where we are

//jog z-axis until it sees the limit

Jog(2,100); // jog slowly positive
while (!ReadBit(10)) ; // loop until IO bit goes high
Jog(2,0); // Stop
while (!CheckDone(2)); // loop until motion completes
DisableAxis(2); // Disable the axis
Zero(2); // zero the position
EnableAxis(2)); // renable the ServoTick
Move(2-1000.0); // move some amount inside limit
While (!CheckDone(2)); // loop until motion completes
ch2->LimitSwitchOptions = SaveZLimits; //restore limit settings
}

printf("Done\n");
}
Attachments
HomeParkerMach3.c
Home C prog
(1.21 KiB) Downloaded 26 times

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 991
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Resurrecting an old project

Post by TomKerekes » Tue Jan 21, 2020 6:30 pm

Hi Art,

If you compile/test your program in KMotion.exe first it should indicate which line has a problem and what the error is.

#1 - some statements don't have a semicolon at the end
#2 - a Move function needs 2 parameters separated by a comma
#3 - the code to do the z homing should be inside the 'if' statement not after it. You might read this.

HTH
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

FlyingScot
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: Resurrecting an old project

Post by FlyingScot » Tue Jan 21, 2020 7:48 pm

Thanks Tom

That's it working on the x axis. Just need to add the other axis's again.
I had edited program to home only the x axis and noticed the missing semicolon and comma.

Regards

Art.

FlyingScot
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: Resurrecting an old project

Post by FlyingScot » Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:57 am

Hi Tom

All axis are working well and the router has been running g code both in kmotioncnc and mach3. This was with the 24v to enable the servo amps hard wired.
The only problem was that on power up the servo's started moving until kmotion or mach was initialsed.
I then fitted a relay to switch the 24v to the drives using the fet o/p SWE when mach3 initialsed.

When mach3 was inialised the relay triggered activating the drives without any movement. But after a couple of seconds the error KMOTIONDLL Read fail auto disconnect message appeared and the servo's started to creep. This did not happen when the 24v to the drives was hard wired.

I have checked all grounds, there are no earth loops and I am using a good quality USB with ferrites on both ends. This is a V1 Kanalogue board.
Any ideas what could be causing this?

Regards

Art

Post Reply