Denford Cyclone Lathe

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
Moray
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:16 pm

Denford Cyclone Lathe

Post by Moray » Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:01 pm

This was the first machine I ever fitted a KFlop too, and although initially running it on Mach3 for the first couple years (my previous lathe ran Mach3 with a SmoothStepper), after yet another crash where Mach sent the unlocked and spinning tool turret into the still spinning spindle, I finally jumped to KMotionCNC. Since moving to KMCNC, the only crashes have been operator error :roll:
new-toy_9861412773_o_resize.jpg
I retrofitted it with a KFlop+Kanalog combo, Kinco servos, and added a Click PLC to handle the turret (the Konnect board didn't exist when this was retrofitted, so a PLC was the easiest option).
wiring-tidied_10679267344_o_resize.jpg
Cable trunking helps to hide a multitude of sins!

I thought I had more photos, but can't currently find them, but here's a video of the turret working-



The only thing it's had done since the original retrofit and move to KMCNC, is I finally created a custom screen a few months ago to show a few key statuses-
KMCNC_grab.png

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 651
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Denford Cyclone Lathe

Post by TomKerekes » Sun Jul 28, 2019 4:51 pm

Hi Moray,

Nice to finally see your machine. Thanks for sharing.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Moray
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:16 pm

Re: Denford Cyclone Lathe

Post by Moray » Sun Jul 28, 2019 11:31 pm

Found a couple more photos.
This is the original electrical cabinet-
electrics-as-delivered_9861320395_o_resize.jpg
It originally used a Baldor Eurostep controller with Parker stepper drivers (all rack mounted), along with a custom control card for handling the tool turret.

As part of my retrofit, I replaced the stepper motors with a 700W servo on the Z axis, and a 400W servo on the X axis.

And my comment in my first post about cable trunking hiding a multitude of sins, this was a photo nearing completion, but prior to everything being hidden back in the trunking -
getting-tidier_10500394085_o_resize.jpg
Creating tidy wiring is an artform, which is why I've come to rely on making sure to use large trunking in any new control boxes I've built!

turbothis
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: Denford Cyclone Lathe

Post by turbothis » Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:56 pm

looks nice!

Post Reply