need serious help again

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

turbothis
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

need serious help again

Post by turbothis » Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:16 pm

ok, not sure where to start.....

issue 1
fresh win7 64 bit computer
spent hours this week trying to get the USb driver to work as windows was pissed the driver was unsigned?
i finally got the F8 key to open the advanced boot options so that i can disable driver signature enforcement.
now it looks like each time the computer starts i will have to F8 and do this each time?

issue 2
i got the Kanalog board wired up good and ran some C programs on my servo to start getting my lathe upgrade started
looking to do AC servo on X, Z and A axis for spindle

lathe hardware
servo is a panasonic MSM082A4A with 2500 p/r encoder from factory
i have the PDF on this that i cant post here

running the same amplifiers on this as my other 2 mills so i am fairly familiar with them
copley 7425AC
i have the PDF on this that i cant post here

just playing with channel 0 for now. i assume channel 0 = X on the kmotioncnc lathe? ch1 = Z? ch2 = Y? ch3 = A?

so far i got the commutation offset info it seems by running this C program
phasefind.txt
(3.53 KiB) Downloaded 84 times
this is the info i get on the console after running it 4 times back to back
servo info.txt
(1.52 KiB) Downloaded 90 times

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2544
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: need serious help again

Post by TomKerekes » Sun Mar 17, 2019 5:21 pm

Hi turbothis,
issue 1
fresh win7 64 bit computer
spent hours this week trying to get the USb driver to work as windows was pissed the driver was unsigned?
i finally got the F8 key to open the advanced boot options so that i can disable driver signature enforcement.
now it looks like each time the computer starts i will have to F8 and do this each time?
Make sure you have all Windows Updates and the drivers should load.
just playing with channel 0 for now. i assume channel 0 = X on the kmotioncnc lathe? ch1 = Z? ch2 = Y? ch3 = A?
No. Configure which GCode axis is which KFLOP Axis with DefineCoordSystem(); to define X as 0, Z as 1 and A as 3:

DefineCoordSystem(0,-1,1,3);

The AutoPhaseFind result looks good except you are off by a decimal. Change all the 10000.0 to 1000.0 to be consistent. It should then report 4 cycles per rev instead of 0.4 cycles per rev.

Then use the DualDACPhaseFindAndCommutateV2.c example.

HTH
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

turbothis
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: need serious help again

Post by turbothis » Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:06 pm

GREAT! thanks
i will fire this thing up and get back into the flow
it is hard to buff back up on the programming portion of this. i do love the outcome though

i think it is all updated but will try a little more on that too

Moray
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:16 pm

Re: need serious help again

Post by Moray » Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:38 pm

I'll just echo what Tom said about making sure windows is fully updated.

I've had the same problem with the driver showing as unsigned, but ensuring all updates are applied solves the problem. It is probably only one specific update that solves the problem, but nobody knows which update.
If the computer isn't easy to connect to the internet, check out - http://www.wsusoffline.net/
You copy it onto a USB stick, run it on the PC you want to update, it'll produce the list of updates needed, then move it to an internet connected PC where it'll download the required updates, before finally moving it back to the other PC where it will install the updates.

turbothis
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: need serious help again

Post by turbothis » Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:29 pm

ok i only found 2 of the 10000.0 to change in the autophasefind program

hows it look?
maybe i am missing something
Attachments
AutoPhaseFindDualDACs.c
(3.53 KiB) Downloaded 87 times
servo info.txt
(1.51 KiB) Downloaded 86 times

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2544
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: need serious help again

Post by TomKerekes » Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:46 pm

That now looks correct

InvDistPerCycle=0.0004
CommutationOffset=2126

Put those in the DualDACPhaseFindAndCommutateV2.c program.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

turbothis
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: need serious help again

Post by turbothis » Mon Mar 18, 2019 12:25 am

ok i think i might have missed something.....

servo starts to find the Z real nice and gets about 1/2 rotation and then geeks out and spins a revolution or 2 then disables
i only have the channel 0 wired up right now not both 0 and 1. is that a problem to run this C program?
Attachments
DualDACPhaseFindAndCommutateV2.c
(4.93 KiB) Downloaded 93 times

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2544
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: need serious help again

Post by TomKerekes » Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:32 pm

The C Program is written to first search both motors simultaneously to find both Z index pulses. IO36 and IO38 both need to go high. It looks like you are lucky and IO38 is high for some reason.

Your invDisPerCycle is negative. Was that intentional?

I'd start off with lower PID gains.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

turbothis
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: need serious help again

Post by turbothis » Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:20 pm

DAM that little"-"!!!! lol

i lowered the PID's

how is io38 high?
is it this?
ch1->InputGain0=1; and not

ch1->InputGain0=-1; when ready to use and wired up

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2544
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: need serious help again

Post by TomKerekes » Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:41 pm

No, InputGain doesn't have any effect on whether a signal is high or low.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Post Reply