Operating system confusion

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
Scott Pancheau
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 10:52 pm

Operating system confusion

Post by Scott Pancheau » Tue Apr 07, 2020 6:23 pm

I am setting up another lathe with Kmotion. I had previously installed version 434b in computer. I now want to use the same program frame as my other lathe that Tom K set up. It has 435b as operating system. I have twice completely deleted all the 434 from the computer and copied in the 435 b from my other computer. No reference to 434b shows up anywhere I can find. When I go to the 435b OS and open Kmotion, the console shows the system as 434b rather than 435b.
1. Is it OK to load the 435b this way, as it is not available as a download yet that I can see in Dynomotion ?
2. is there somewhere else in the computer besides the Operating system I need to go to completely clear out all and start again ?

Thanks,
Scott

cnc_freak
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:36 am

Re: Operating system confusion

Post by cnc_freak » Tue Apr 07, 2020 8:18 pm

What version runs on the Kflop board? Perhaps you have to update also on the Kflop board the version 435b.

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Operating system confusion

Post by TomKerekes » Tue Apr 07, 2020 8:22 pm

Hi Scott,

There are two parts to KMotion. The stuff on the PC and the stuff Flashed into KFLOP. The Console Version command asks KFLOP what Version it is.

So run V4.35 on the PC. Verify the PC is V4.35b using Help|About. Then Flash New Version into KFLOP to make it V4.35b also. Then Reboot KFLOP and use the Version command to verify KFLOP is V4.35b also.

HTH
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Scott Pancheau
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 10:52 pm

Re: Operating system confusion

Post by Scott Pancheau » Wed Apr 08, 2020 3:49 pm

Thanks for your help. I will do as instructed.
Scott

Post Reply