axis resolution

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
ZooBDoo
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 4:35 pm

axis resolution

Post by ZooBDoo » Tue Dec 10, 2019 8:48 pm

I'm a bit confused about the configuration page relating to axis resolution and velocity and how the C program motion, Step response, KCNC trajectory planner and jog speeds interplay. Are they consistent with each other?

AZ

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: axis resolution

Post by TomKerekes » Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:22 pm

Hi AZ,

Please read this wiki article and let us know if you still have questions.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

cnc_freak
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:36 am

Re: axis resolution

Post by cnc_freak » Wed May 27, 2020 8:57 pm

I read the article but i have still a question about a servo installation. For example if i want the max motor revolutions to be 1500rpm, and the servo drive/motor gives 1024 counts/rev, what should i but in the velocity parameter.

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: axis resolution

Post by TomKerekes » Wed May 27, 2020 9:18 pm

1500 / 60 x 1024 = 25600 counts/sec
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

cnc_freak
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:36 am

Re: axis resolution

Post by cnc_freak » Wed May 27, 2020 10:20 pm

The servo drive gives an incremental output A,/A, B, /B. Does not Kflop read that x 4? So that kflop read every rev 1024 x 4 = 4096?

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: axis resolution

Post by TomKerekes » Thu May 28, 2020 12:31 am

That's always confusing. It depends on whether the 1024 is quadrature cycles (sometimes referred to as "lines") or quadrature counts. You said counts so I assumed quadrature counts. If I'm wrong the result will be obvious so multiply by 4.

HTH
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Post Reply