Tool radius compensation on G18

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
cemoa9
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:01 am

Tool radius compensation on G18

Post by cemoa9 » Thu Mar 31, 2022 5:31 pm

Hello Tom,

A great improvement would to get tool radius compensation working on lathes so with G18. Sure CAM softs can generate a correct toolpath without this feature activated, but for some applications CAM may be just much slower / complicated / not optimized.

Cordially,

Francois

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2003
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Tool radius compensation on G18

Post by TomKerekes » Fri Apr 01, 2022 9:51 pm

Hi Francois,

We will consider this.

But does it make sense? Are lathe tools typically round?
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

cemoa9
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:01 am

Re: Tool radius compensation on G18

Post by cemoa9 » Sat Apr 02, 2022 4:18 pm

Hello Tom,

Inserts have a radius, if not taken into account (in CAM or Radius compensation when manual programming) then the curves, chamfers (every shape which is not following only X or Z) are not matching the program.

Cordially

Francois

cemoa9
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:01 am

Re: Tool radius compensation on G18

Post by cemoa9 » Wed Apr 13, 2022 9:55 am

Hello Tom,

Does it make sense to you?

Cordially,

Francois

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2003
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Tool radius compensation on G18

Post by TomKerekes » Thu Apr 21, 2022 11:13 am

Hi Francois,

Yes. Looks somewhat difficult to add. You might look at the code to see if there is an easy way to add.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Post Reply