how to implement a security switch launching a program / gcode

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

gui_marchioro
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2022 11:22 pm

Re: how to implement a security switch launching a program / gcode

Post by gui_marchioro » Mon Nov 07, 2022 1:14 pm

Hi,

I think I am missing something else in this configuration.

Now the Cycle Start program is indeed configured to "Exec/wait", but still it is executing some lines before Halt.



Here is the program that is executed when Cycle Start is called:

Code: Select all

#include "Homing.c"
#include "InitConfig.c"
#include "MillChanger.h"
#include "KMotionDef.h"

#define TMP 10 // which spare persist to use to transfer data
#include "KflopToKMotionCNCFunctions.c"

// Program to be executed when the Cycle Start button is pressed
// DoPC(PC_COMM_EXECUTE);
void main()
{
    if (GetInitExecuted() == 0 || GetHomingExecuted() == 0 || GetIsExecutingHoming() == 1)
    {
        HaltAndWarn("Execute the Init and Homing function before run a program");
    }
    else if (ReadBit(MAGAZINE_OPENED_INPUT))
    {
        HaltAndWarn("Close the tool magazine before run a program");
    }
}

void HaltAndWarn(char *message)
{
    DoPC(PC_COMM_HALT);
    MsgBoxNoWait(message, MB_ICONEXCLAMATION);
    DoPC(PC_COMM_RESTART);
}
Sincerely,
Guilherme

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2529
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: how to implement a security switch launching a program / gcode

Post by TomKerekes » Wed Nov 09, 2022 12:55 am

Hi Guilherme,

There was a bug regarding this. GCode execution was beginning before the Cycle Start Action was complete.

Here is a patch for Version 4.35h.

KMotionCNC.exe


Download and copy to the C:\KMotion435h\KMotion\Release folder.

The following code seems to now work now for me:

Code: Select all

#include "Homing.c"
#include "InitConfig.c"
#include "MillChanger.h"
#include "KMotionDef.h"

#define TMP 10 // which spare persist to use to transfer data
#include "KflopToKMotionCNCFunctions.c"

// Program to be executed when the Cycle Start button is pressed
// DoPC(PC_COMM_EXECUTE);
void main()
{
    if (GetInitExecuted() == 0 || GetHomingExecuted() == 0 || GetIsExecutingHoming() == 1)
    {
        HaltAndWarn("Execute the Init and Homing function before run a program");
    }
    else if (ReadBit(MAGAZINE_OPENED_INPUT))
    {
        HaltAndWarn("Close the tool magazine before run a program");
    }
}

void HaltAndWarn(char *message)
{
    DoPC(PC_COMM_HALT);
    MsgBox(message, MB_ICONEXCLAMATION);
}
HTH
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

gui_marchioro
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2022 11:22 pm

Re: how to implement a security switch launching a program / gcode

Post by gui_marchioro » Wed Nov 09, 2022 2:43 pm

Hello Tom,

Nice. Thanks for the reply.

I have pasted in the specific folder but when I try to execute KMotionCNC I get a "Missing entry point" error.
error.png
Any thoughts on how to solve this problem?

Sincerely,
Guilherme

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2529
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: how to implement a security switch launching a program / gcode

Post by TomKerekes » Wed Nov 09, 2022 4:32 pm

Hi Guilherme,

It must be used with Version 4.35h
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

gui_marchioro
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2022 11:22 pm

Re: how to implement a security switch launching a program / gcode

Post by gui_marchioro » Sun Jan 22, 2023 5:49 pm

Hello,

I finally tried this, and it indeed solved the problem. Now before executing a G code program it execute my C program.

It work as expected when clicking in the button Cycle Start, but when executing the command DoPC(PC_COMM_EXECUTE) the execution halts and the UI stops to respond with this new KMotionCNC.exe version.



The programs involved are:
Program that execute when Cycle Start button is clicked

Code: Select all

#include "KMotionDef.h"
#include "Homing.c"
#include "InitConfig.c"
#include "Magazine.h"
#include "MillChanger.h"

#define TMP 10 // which spare persist to use to transfer data
#include "KflopToKMotionCNCFunctions.c"

// Program to be executed when the Cycle Start button is pressed
// DoPC(PC_COMM_EXECUTE);
void main()
{
    if (GetInitExecuted() == 0 || GetHomingExecuted() == 0 || GetIsExecutingHoming() == 1)
    {
        HaltAndWarn("Execute the Init and Homing function before run a program");
    }
    else if (ReadBit(MAGAZINE_OPENED_INPUT))
    {
        HaltAndWarn("Close the tool magazine before run a program");
    }
}

void HaltAndWarn(char *message)
{
    DoPC(PC_COMM_HALT);
    Delay_sec(1);
    MsgBoxNoWait(message, MB_ICONEXCLAMATION);
    Delay_sec(1);
    DoPC(PC_COMM_RESTART);
    Delay_sec(1);
    MDI("M30");
}
Program that execute when button Execute is clicked

Code: Select all

#include "KMotionDef.h"
#ifndef TMP
#define TMP 10 // which spare persist to use to transfer data
#include "KflopToKMotionCNCFunctions.c"
#endif

main()
{
    DoPC(PC_COMM_EXECUTE);
}
Is there a new patch that solves this?

Sincerely,
Guilherme

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2529
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: how to implement a security switch launching a program / gcode

Post by TomKerekes » Mon Jan 23, 2023 5:21 pm

Hi Guilherme,

The code you posted is different from what I suggested. But anyway the main issue is that the KFLOP to PC commands only allow one command at a time to be made. When one command is given it must complete before the next. In the case where a button issues a PC_COMM_EXECUTE and this attempts to do a Halt or Message Box the commands will fail.

One solution would be to have the Execute button do the safety checks itself, display any message, and only issue the PC_COMM_EXECUTE if everything is ok. There is a small chance that the IO changed after the Execute button made the check but before the Cycle Start actually begins, a flag (Virtual Bit) can be used to inform the Cycle Start program that the checks have already been made. Below is an example. I couldn't fully test because you didn't post some files and I don't have your hardware.

Execute Button Code:

Code: Select all

#include "KMotionDef.h"
#include "Homing.c"
#include "InitConfig.c"
#include "Magazine.h"
#include "MillChanger.h"

#ifndef TMP
#define TMP 10					// which spare persist to use to transfer data
#include "KflopToKMotionCNCFunctions.c"
#endif

#define OK_TO_RUN_BIT 48

main()
{
	if (GetInitExecuted() == 0 || GetHomingExecuted() == 0 || GetIsExecutingHoming() == 1)
	{
		HaltAndWarn("Execute the Init and Homing function before run a program");
	}
	else if (ReadBit(MAGAZINE_OPENED_INPUT))
	{
		HaltAndWarn("Close the tool magazine before run a program");
	}
	else
	{
		SetBit(OK_TO_RUN_BIT);
		DoPC(PC_COMM_EXECUTE);
		ClearBit(OK_TO_RUN_BIT);
	}
}
Cycles Start Code:

Code: Select all

#include "KMotionDef.h"
#include "Homing.c"
#include "InitConfig.c"
#include "Magazine.h"
#include "MillChanger.h"

#define TMP 10					// which spare persist to use to transfer data
#include "KflopToKMotionCNCFunctions.c"

#define OK_TO_RUN_BIT 48

// Program to be executed when the Cycle Start button is pressed
// DoPC(PC_COMM_EXECUTE);
void main()
{
	if (!ReadBit(OK_TO_RUN_BIT))
	{
		if (GetInitExecuted() == 0 || GetHomingExecuted() == 0 || GetIsExecutingHoming() == 1)
		{
			HaltAndWarn("Execute the Init and Homing function before run a program");
		}
		else if (ReadBit(MAGAZINE_OPENED_INPUT))
		{
			HaltAndWarn("Close the tool magazine before run a program");
		}
	}
	ClearBit(OK_TO_RUN_BIT);
}

void HaltAndWarn(char *message)
{
	DoPC(PC_COMM_HALT);
	MsgBox(message, MB_ICONEXCLAMATION);
}
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

gui_marchioro
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2022 11:22 pm

Re: how to implement a security switch launching a program / gcode

Post by gui_marchioro » Sun May 14, 2023 8:12 pm

Nice Tom, I was able to handle the problem using the strategy you mentioned.

Still on this topic, from what you mentioned it is risky to issue two or more commands in a row from KFLOP to PC. I was wondering if there is a way to know when a command is completed, and just send another one conditioned to this completion.

Sincerely,
Guilherme

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2529
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: how to implement a security switch launching a program / gcode

Post by TomKerekes » Sun May 14, 2023 8:21 pm

Hi Guilherme,
it is risky to issue two or more commands in a row from KFLOP to PC.
No. The protocol assumes that KMotionCNC is ready to accept a new command. So the command is set and then waits till the command is cleared indicating KMotionCNC has completed the command and ready for another. And then the function returns to the caller.

This works fine unless multiple Threads try to issue commands at the same time. Then all bets are off :)
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Post Reply