Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
AmitKumar171
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
Location: India

Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Post by AmitKumar171 » Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:09 pm

Hi tom,

I am using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect board together to connect my Rotary type auto tool changer.

I can only find linear tool changer code in manual

https://www.dynomotion.com/wiki/index.p ... _C_Program

above link.

But in my case I am using Rotary type tool changer with a disk having 12 tools.

For movement of tool changer axis i am using 2 stepper motors in open loop connected to kflop JP4.

One stepper motor is for moving ATC arm horizontal movement.

2nd Stepper motor is for Rotating ATC disk (Which has tools mounted) to reach respective tool postions.

Please guide me for the above problem.

I have attached flow chart that is similar to our case.
ATC.pdf
(183.38 KiB) Downloaded 99 times
and rotary tool changer is similar to the below link

https://www.aliexpress.com/i/32955275935.html

Waiting for your kind reply
Thank You

AMIT KUMAR

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2557
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Post by TomKerekes » Wed Aug 26, 2020 4:20 pm

Hi Amit,

A Linear Tool changer should be very similar to a Rotary Tool Changer except what is done to move to the Tool Positions. The Linear example moves XY to the necessary position. In your case you will rotate your carousel.

That is a poor example of a flowchart. I'd suggest making a well detailed flowchart for your system. Before writing any code I would perform each step manually using KMotion.exe Digital IO and Console Screens to Activate IO Bits, Check Status Bits, and Move things.

HTH
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

AmitKumar171
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
Location: India

Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Post by AmitKumar171 » Thu Aug 27, 2020 6:35 am

Hi tom,

Thanks for your reply.

I will try manual method first before writing a code.

but in code for linear tool changer Absolute position of tool holders , What will be the replacement for this, ?

I am using stepper motors with open loop, How to do define the tool holder locations in C program. ?

Waiting for your kind reply.
Thank You

AMIT KUMAR

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2557
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Post by TomKerekes » Thu Aug 27, 2020 3:46 pm

Hi Amit,
but in code for linear tool changer Absolute position of tool holders , What will be the replacement for this, ?

I am using stepper motors with open loop, How to do define the tool holder locations in C program. ?
You will need to understand how your tool changer works. There is likely to be some number of motor steps between tool positions. There will also need to be some type of sensor or sensors so you can tell when a tool is in position to be changed and which position it is. Its up to you to understand how your tool changer is supposed to work.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

AmitKumar171
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
Location: India

Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Post by AmitKumar171 » Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:08 am

hi TOM,

Thanks for the reply.

One doubt i have in tool changer program, for example in tool changer folder of KMOTION434/cprograms , has so many tool changing c programs.

I want to know which all programs are must for a successful linear tool change.

and which program should i run in kmotion thread2 (which has for loop) ?

and which program should i use in M6 T** command.

Waiting for your kind reply.

here is the program attached.
Attachments
Linear4ToolHolders Rev 2.c
(10.26 KiB) Downloaded 67 times
ToolM6TrigService.c
(845 Bytes) Downloaded 61 times
SetLastToolTo1.c
(205 Bytes) Downloaded 60 times
ServiceToolChangeTable.c
(7.55 KiB) Downloaded 63 times
ServiceToolChange.c
(5.2 KiB) Downloaded 69 times
Thank You

AMIT KUMAR

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2557
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Post by TomKerekes » Fri Sep 25, 2020 4:13 pm

Hi Amit,
I want to know which all programs are must for a successful linear tool change.
You should only need one program. I would think Linear4ToolHolders Rev 2.c would be the closest to what you need to do.

and which program should i run in kmotion thread2 (which has for loop) ?
I don't understand. You shouldn't need a for loop.

and which program should i use in M6 T** command.
The program you create to change the tool.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

AmitKumar171
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
Location: India

Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Post by AmitKumar171 » Tue Sep 29, 2020 6:22 am

Hi tom,

Thanks for your reply.

What is service tool change.c program in the Kmotion directory ?

and What it is used for?

and one more thing i wanna ask, How to change Linear4ToolHolders Rev 2.c program for a carousal type tool changer with 12 tools. ? What specific parameter i should change for making linear tool change to carousal type tool changer, considering all remaining parameters is same as linear, only tool positioning is rotary ?

Waiting for your kind reply.
Thank You

AMIT KUMAR

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2557
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Post by TomKerekes » Tue Sep 29, 2020 4:58 pm

Hi Amit,
What is service tool change.c program in the Kmotion directory ?

and What it is used for?
That is an example that uses a "state machine" approach. A function coded as a state machine keeps track of it's state so that it can always exit immediately, even though it is waiting for something, and then resume what it was doing next time it is called. A User created this program in this manner so that an additional Thread was not needed and a Tool Change could be performed without a connection to a PC. You should probably ignore this as it is more complicated than simply using a program that runs in another Thread and waits for things.

and one more thing i wanna ask, How to change Linear4ToolHolders Rev 2.c program for a carousal type tool changer with 12 tools. ? What specific parameter i should change for making linear tool change to carousal type tool changer, considering all remaining parameters is same as linear, only tool positioning is rotary ?
You will need to study the program, understand how it works, then understand how your machine works, and make the appropriate changes. It won't be a single parameter. You haven't described how your machine needs to work, but that program moves to different xy locations to load/unload different tools. I'm guessing your system will always move the the same position but then command the carousel to different positions to load/unload different tools.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

AmitKumar171
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
Location: India

Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Post by AmitKumar171 » Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:34 am

Hi tom,

THanks for your reply.
I'm guessing your system will always move the the same position but then command the carousel to different positions to load/unload different tools.
Yes you are right.

To proceed with that what specific parameters should i change or any sample program that works?

and one more thing, how do i rotate carousal to the tool change location using tool changer program ?

Waiting for your kind reply.
Thank You

AMIT KUMAR

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2557
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Rotary type automatic tool changer setup using Kflop+Kanalog+Konnect

Post by TomKerekes » Wed Sep 30, 2020 4:22 pm

Hi Amit,
To proceed with that what specific parameters should i change or any sample program that works?
You will need to try to do that yourself. Or otherwise contact our support for paid support to write a custom program for you. You would also need to describe your requirements.

how do i rotate carousal to the tool change location using tool changer program ?
You would need to know how your carousel works and then command it. Do you know how your carousal works?
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Post Reply