Fanuc pulse coder use

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
Scott Pancheau
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 10:52 pm

Fanuc pulse coder use

Post by Scott Pancheau » Wed Mar 18, 2020 12:30 pm

I am getting started on converting a Mazak lathe to Kmotion. The DC servos use Fanuc pulse coders with AA BB ZZ feed back. I think these are an analog signal. Will these work rather than digital quadrature encoders? They are a 5 volt supply.
Thanks,
Scott

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Fanuc pulse coder use

Post by TomKerekes » Wed Mar 18, 2020 7:01 pm

Hi Scott,

You would need to do some research to determine what type the encoders are. I Googled and found this related Thread.

Not sure what AA BB ZZ is, but sounds like digital quadrature with an index pulse. Normally they would have A+ and A-, B+ and B-, and Z+ and Z-.

You can confirm with an oscilloscope or voltmeter. The signals should all toggle between about 0.4V and 3V.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Scott Pancheau
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 10:52 pm

Re: Fanuc pulse coder use

Post by Scott Pancheau » Thu Mar 19, 2020 3:46 pm

Thanks Tom,
I did find info showing they are quadrature and the z is a single pulse per rev. which I don't think I will be using.

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Fanuc pulse coder use

Post by TomKerekes » Thu Mar 19, 2020 6:40 pm

Hi Scott,

Ok good regarding encoders.

Are there existing Servo Drives? Do they accept +/-10V analog?
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Moray
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:16 pm

Re: Fanuc pulse coder use

Post by Moray » Thu Mar 19, 2020 10:49 pm

Scott, I wouldn't totally dismiss the Z pulse.
You can use it for index homing, to improve homing accuracy.

Post Reply