Beginner: CNC Z-Probe

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
GS76
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:50 pm

Beginner: CNC Z-Probe

Post by GS76 » Sat Feb 29, 2020 3:07 pm

Hi all,

I require assistance with connecting the following CNC X-probe to KFlop/KStep.

http://www.3dprintingstore.co.za/cnc/cnc-z-probe/

Any assistance would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2529
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Beginner: CNC Z-Probe

Post by TomKerekes » Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:46 pm

Hi GS76,

From the wiki:

KonnectTouchPlate.png

It shows a Konnect Input used but a KStep Opto Input could be used instead. See KStep's Optically isolated Inputs described here. Opto Anode would correspond to Konnect's Common0.

HTH
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

GS76
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:50 pm

Re: Beginner: CNC Z-Probe

Post by GS76 » Sun Mar 01, 2020 2:41 pm

Thank you, Tom,

So in accordance with this link below, I could use "JP33" and the pin 8 and then choose an unused pin between 9 and 24. Is that correct?

How would I activate it with KMotion to set "0" in the Z-axis?

What c code can be used to assist with this operation?

Any assistance would be much appreciated.
KStep_JP33.PNG

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2529
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Beginner: CNC Z-Probe

Post by TomKerekes » Sun Mar 01, 2020 5:27 pm

Hi GS78,
So in accordance with this link below, I could use "JP33" and the pin 8 and then choose an unused pin between 9 and 24. Is that correct?
Yes

How would I activate it with KMotion to set "0" in the Z-axis?

What c code can be used to assist with this operation?
There are many approaches to "set 0". Global offsets, Fixture offsets, Tool offsets, etc. It depends on how your machine is configured and what your work flow consists of. Will you be setting the Tool Length? Will you be setting the Stock origin? Top? Bottom?

The simplest might be to set the Z DRO to zero with (from KFLOPtoPCCmdExamples.c):

DoPCFloat(PC_COMM_SET_Z, 0.0);

Or to some offset value based on touch plate thickness or such.

HTH
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

GS76
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:50 pm

Re: Beginner: CNC Z-Probe

Post by GS76 » Sun Mar 01, 2020 5:41 pm

Thank you Tom,

I will have a think about this, but I appreciate the information.

Would I include that c code in the initialisation c code?

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2529
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Beginner: CNC Z-Probe

Post by TomKerekes » Sun Mar 01, 2020 5:49 pm

Hi GS76,
Would I include that c code in the initialisation c code?
No, you would create a separate C Program to perform the probe and set the z. Configure an MCode Action to execute/wait/sync the program. Then put the MCode into the GCode wherever you want to do a Probe Operation. Or you could configure a User Button Action to execute the program and push the button whenever you wish to do a probe.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

GS76
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:50 pm

Re: Beginner: CNC Z-Probe

Post by GS76 » Sun Mar 01, 2020 5:52 pm

Makes sense.

Thank you.

Post Reply