DC Servos and SnapAmp

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Courier250

DC Servos and SnapAmp

Post by Courier250 » Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:39 pm

Another newbie here, so please forgive me for the elementary questions. The purpose of my project is not only to have a CNC mill, but also to learn about building the system with Dynomotion products. Decision 1: SnapAmp or Kanalog? Use the existing DC servos or switch to AC an Kanalog?

I have a knee mill with Anilam Crusader II CNC that is going to get upgraded. The DC Brushed servos and power supply function and I would like to reuse them. The power supply AC input is stepped down from 110V to 80VAC, and that gives a predictable 111VDC supply. SnapAmp voltage limit is 80V.

Do I want to change the DC power supply to 80V? The net effect limits max speed and torque. SEM servo is MT-30M4-59, data plate voltage is 142. My theory is that 80V will limit speed and torque too much and I won't get a usable machine. Any input is greatly appreciated.

TomKerekes

Re: DC Servos and SnapAmp

Post by TomKerekes » Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:04 pm

Hi Courier250,
The DC Brushed servos and power supply function and I would like to reuse them. The power supply AC input is stepped down from 110V to 80VAC, and that gives a predictable 111VDC supply. SnapAmp voltage limit is 80V.
It might be simplest to keep the existing analog Amplifiers, motors, power supply. In that case you would use KFLOP+Kanalog. You might do this simple test to check the amplifiers.
Do I want to change the DC power supply to 80V? The net effect limits max speed and torque. SEM servo is MT-30M4-59, data plate voltage is 142. My theory is that 80V will limit speed and torque too much and I won't get a usable machine. Any input is greatly appreciated.
If you want to drive those motors with SnapAmp instead of the existing amplifiers you would need to reduce the power supply voltage to 80V max. This would reduce the max speed but not so much the max torque.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes