basic lather with A axis control

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
turbothis
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

basic lather with A axis control

Post by turbothis » Thu Dec 14, 2023 11:34 pm

so after playing with this for some hours i got something close to complete
i soon realized this editor is like putting together a puzzle from a box, with only a given amount of pieces that can not be removed, and you build it with a Nintendo controller. not very high tech/high speed :lol: but it works.....

my requirements
1 full screen 1360 x 768 resolution of my monitors
2 X, Z and A axis control and read out

now in my final leg of this journey i think the only trouble is that my A axis controls the X axis on the machine
X axis on the control does nothing....
Attachments
Capture.JPG
TTurboLathe.scr
(61.44 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
Last edited by turbothis on Fri Dec 15, 2023 12:45 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2566
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: basic lather with A axis control

Post by TomKerekes » Fri Dec 15, 2023 12:22 am

I assume you are referring to the Jog buttons?

There is a Lathe option in Tool Setup that basically swaps XZ to ZX
from
Right/Left and +/-Z Buttons controlling normal X Z
to
Right/Left and +/-Z Buttons controlling Z X respectively.

Is that enabled?

If so,

for your X buttons you should use the Zplus/minus buttons (You are using Up/Down which maps to Y which is why you get nothing)
for your Z buttons you should use the Right/Left buttons (Looks like you are)
for your A buttons you should use the Aplus/minus buttons (You are using Z for some reason)

HTH
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

turbothis
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: basic lather with A axis control

Post by turbothis » Fri Dec 15, 2023 12:27 am

yes sorry
lathe is enabled
i cant find any way to rotate or use an appropriate index arrow button
this would be 1000 times easier if the all mighty axis bar would not lock us out :(
Attachments
buttttons.JPG
buttttons.JPG (3.88 KiB) Viewed 613 times
11212.JPG
11212.JPG (6.23 KiB) Viewed 614 times
Last edited by turbothis on Fri Dec 15, 2023 12:34 am, edited 7 times in total.

turbothis
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: basic lather with A axis control

Post by turbothis » Fri Dec 15, 2023 12:28 am

does the tooltip only show what it in the text bar or does it have any axis value?
i am getting the vide that tooltip is useless. i thought this was where something could be defined
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (5.83 KiB) Viewed 618 times
Last edited by turbothis on Fri Dec 15, 2023 12:45 am, edited 2 times in total.

turbothis
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: basic lather with A axis control

Post by turbothis » Fri Dec 15, 2023 12:43 am

pretty much like having 2 of these types of kits stacked onto each other but you can hide one stack.
Attachments
s-l1600.jpg

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2566
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: basic lather with A axis control

Post by TomKerekes » Fri Dec 15, 2023 12:53 am

Sorry I don't understand either of these questions.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

turbothis
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: basic lather with A axis control

Post by turbothis » Fri Dec 15, 2023 1:28 am

is there a way to simply rotate the cute little arrows?
i would love for these to be vertical
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (6.13 KiB) Viewed 595 times

turbothis
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: basic lather with A axis control

Post by turbothis » Fri Dec 15, 2023 1:58 am

ok, 8 hours into this and it is pretty much ready to get dangerous and try some cuts
i cant thank you for your help and patience with this stuff!
Attachments
TTurboLathe.scr
(61.44 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
done.JPG

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 2566
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: basic lather with A axis control

Post by TomKerekes » Fri Dec 15, 2023 6:37 pm

is there a way to simply rotate the cute little arrows?
i would love for these to be vertical
You can override the default bitmaps. For example set to:
\PC VC Examples\KMotionCNC\res\Up.bmp
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

turbothis
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:07 pm
Location: southern oregon

Re: basic lather with A axis control

Post by turbothis » Fri Mar 15, 2024 10:15 pm

dang, got everything looking good and now cant get any G viewer toolpath
I'm even using the basic 2 axis lathe one

Post Reply