Spindle Override Displayed Value Updating

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
MadTooler
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:57 pm

Spindle Override Displayed Value Updating

Post by MadTooler » Sat Nov 24, 2018 6:16 am

I am now using the KStep to control my spindle via the 10v analog output. My new C programs seem to be working for all of the spindle control buttons on my new screens as well.

What I am missing is any output on the S speed override at anytime. Whether running at 1, under, or over. I do not have any encoders or feedback on the spindle to be truly accurate, but a general idea based on the PWM and spindle slider would be nice. Ideally, it would be nice if this would be updated anytime the spindle was on, regardless if a gcode was being run or not.
SpindleSpeedUpdate.PNG

Thanks again and Happy after Turkey weekend!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Spindle Override Displayed Value Updating

Post by TomKerekes » Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:47 pm

Hi MadTooler,

That readout is intended to display the actual measured spindle speed. There is also an associated red bar graph that indicates the relative speed vs the programmed speed.

RedBarGraph.png

It requires Threading to be properly configured to know which Axis will service the Spindle encoder and so forth.

Threading[1].png

The best approach would be to add feedback from your Spindle.

Otherwise you might fake that you have an encoder by continuously setting the Axis Position to the Commanded Position by adding something like:

chx->Position = chx->Dest;

into a forever loop.

Another approach might be to create your own DRO and/or Vertical Bar Graph using the Screen Editor and update it whenever you change the Spindle Speed.

Regards
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

MadTooler
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:57 pm

Re: Spindle Override Displayed Value Updating

Post by MadTooler » Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:40 am

I do not plan on spindle feedback for now. The DRO solution worked well. Thanks.

Interesting that the bar graphs do not show in the screen editor while a Kflop is not connected. They also do not function with the KStep where no encoders are present. I can see the usefulness where functionality, or lack there of, can help diagnose or confirm system integrity, but it also would be nice for setups limited like this one to have the checkbox option for as commanded/over ridden indicators. Maybe a new feature suggestion?

Post Reply