Drilling Cycles giving Error in 3+2 Axis operation

Moderators: TomKerekes, dynomotion

Post Reply
AmitKumar171
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
Location: India
Contact:

Drilling Cycles giving Error in 3+2 Axis operation

Post by AmitKumar171 » Fri Sep 03, 2021 6:24 am

Hi Tom,

I am using KFLOP+KONNECT for CNC machines. I have made code for drilling cycle supported by kmotion (Eg. G80....). And in 3+2 axis it is giving error of plane change and cycle is halted.

Or it is running in horizontal direction, but it should run in vertical direction to make drills.

I am not able to identify the problem, please guide me what am i doing wrong, or in kmotion drilling cycles in 3+2 axes not supported?

Waiting for your kind reply.
Thank You

AMIT KUMAR

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 1559
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Drilling Cycles giving Error in 3+2 Axis operation

Post by TomKerekes » Fri Sep 03, 2021 3:49 pm

Hi Amit,

Post a small GCode program that gives the error.

What is the exact error message that you are seeing?
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

AmitKumar171
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Drilling Cycles giving Error in 3+2 Axis operation

Post by AmitKumar171 » Tue Sep 21, 2021 6:08 am

TomKerekes wrote:
Fri Sep 03, 2021 3:49 pm
Hi Amit,

Post a small GCode program that gives the error.

What is the exact error message that you are seeing?
It gives error of different plane in drilling cycle.

Assume we are drilling in yz plane and with RTCP that plane changes with table rotation.

So it give error of wrong plane with Z move or so.

What could be the error in that case ?

Waiting for your kind reply.
Thank You

AMIT KUMAR

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 1559
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Drilling Cycles giving Error in 3+2 Axis operation

Post by TomKerekes » Tue Sep 21, 2021 3:00 pm

Hi Amit,

Sorry I don't understand. Please post the exact error message you are getting and the GCode you are running.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

AmitKumar171
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Drilling Cycles giving Error in 3+2 Axis operation

Post by AmitKumar171 » Wed Sep 29, 2021 9:50 am

Hi tom,

Thank you for earlier reply.

I have attached a drilling cycle G code that runs in 3+2 axis with RTCP on. and instead of moving spindle in actual z direction, it is moving in actual Y direction.
and video of run program also here uploaded in google drive.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Jbx7iZ ... sp=sharing
drilling_g83_g80.txt
(1.2 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Please help me understand, what am i doing wrong ?

Waiting for your kind reply.
Thank You

AMIT KUMAR

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 1559
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Drilling Cycles giving Error in 3+2 Axis operation

Post by TomKerekes » Wed Sep 29, 2021 8:20 pm

Hi Amit,

That looks correct to me. With G17 (XY Plane) the G83 drill direction is to be in GCode Z direction. With RTCP on and the part rotated 90 degrees to move the tool tip in Z Axis #1 must change. Same as with a G1 command with that orientation to mill in Z axis #1 would need to change.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

AmitKumar171
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Drilling Cycles giving Error in 3+2 Axis operation

Post by AmitKumar171 » Thu Sep 30, 2021 5:54 am

Hi tom,

Thanks for your kind reply.
That looks correct to me. With G17 (XY Plane) the G83 drill direction is to be in GCode Z direction. With RTCP on and the part rotated 90 degrees to move the tool tip in Z Axis #1 must change. Same as with a G1 command with that orientation to mill in Z axis #1 would need to change
How it is correct, By rotation of part by 90 degrees, still we need to drill whole in actual z direction only right.?

and How can i make it work, to drill whole in that condition, we need actual z direction(#2) to change. But it is changing (#1) as per in the screenshots.

Do i need to change plane in (G18/G19) ?

Waiting for kind reply.
Thank You

AMIT KUMAR

User avatar
TomKerekes
Posts: 1559
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Drilling Cycles giving Error in 3+2 Axis operation

Post by TomKerekes » Thu Sep 30, 2021 4:59 pm

How it is correct, By rotation of part by 90 degrees, still we need to drill whole in actual z direction only right.?
No, because you rotated the part the drill is now pointing in the Y direction, so you will need to drill in the Y direction.

You might try changing the Plane to drill in the Y direction, but it think that might only work on one side as I believe G83 only works drilling negative (down).

In general you may need to code your own drill cycles in GCode with G1/G0 commands in the direction you need.
Regards,

Tom Kerekes
Dynomotion, Inc.

Post Reply